Starkville Little League Dawgs

The Starkville Little League Dawgs captured the Mississippi Little League State championship on Friday night in Hattiesburg. The members of the Dawgs are Harrison Hallberg, Brennon Frazier, Rolling Burkhalter, Brantley Berkery, Kaiden Wilson, Jack Dodds, Taj Prater, Will Akers, B.J. Hendrix, Thomas Graves and Payne Brand.

With Friday night’s 10-0 victory in six innings over Clinton, Starkville claimed the Mississippi Little League State championship and advanced to next week’s Southwest Regional.

Starkville has now won the state title in six of the last seven years.

For more on this story, read our news edition from Saturday, July 24 or click here to subscribe to our e-edition.

Recommended for you