Starkville American 8-year-old Dizzy Dean All-Stars

The members of the Starkville American 8-year-old Dizzy Dean All-Stars, who won the State Championship on Monday in Hernando, are Cooper Anthony (listed alphabetically), Cayden Breen, Rayvon Collier, Thomas Collier, Preston Crouch, Murphy Gordon, Cline Kemp, Kylan Pulliam, Knox Smith, Reed Sparks, Stokes Smith and Will Thomas. The head coach is Wesley Gordon.

HERNANDO – It only took 43 minutes on Monday for the Starkville American 8-year-old All-Stars to capture the Dizzy Dean State championship.

Starkville edged Batesville 2-1 to claim the overall State trophy, one night after winning the South State title in Houston in an all-city matchup with Starkville National.

In a game where everything was magnified, Murphy Gordon had two hits and scored one of the runs for Starkville American against Batesville.

Stokes Smith scored the other run and added a hit, while Reed Sparks, Thomas Collier, Kylan Pulliam, Caden Breen and Cline Kemp had one hit each.

For more on Starkville Americans' State championship, see Tuesday's Starkville Daily News.

Recommended for you