rotary scs

The Starkville Rotary Club recognized Starkville Christian School teacher Rebecca Stegal ( left) as Educator of the Year and SCS students Lisa Smith (middle) and Denton Jenkins (right) as students of the year.

The Rotary program on Monday was a little special in the sense the club not only heard from a guest speaker from the Mississippi Aquarium, but they also heard from the Oktibbeha Young Leaders. The civic organization also recognized one teacher and two students from Starkville Christian School. 

Each year, a group of local students are interviewed and selected by Starkville Rotary Club to be a part of Oktibbeha Young Leaders. This year’s selection of students got to work last week and met with city and county officials as well as first responders to see how they lead in the community. 

Watkins Dumas (Starkville High School), Emily O’Neal (Starkville Academy), and Katie Duran (Starkville High School) spoke about what it meant to them to be able to speak with leaders such as Mayor Lynn Spruill, Supervisor Bricklee Miller, Starkville Police Chief Mark Ballard, and Starkville Fire Chief Charles Yarbrough.

For the full story, check out the Tuesday, October 19 edition of SDN. 

Recommended for you