Candidates for countywide offices are gearing up for the summer campaign months heading into the fall election, with some receiving and spending more than others.

The deadline to file the first periodic campaign finance report was Friday, May 10, with the next filing date set for June 10.

The current filing period covers from Jan. 1 through April 30, 2019.


The race that saw the most money reported at the first filing deadline is the two-person race between incumbent Sheriff Steve Gladney, a Democrat, and Democratic challenger John Rice, an Okltibbeha County Sheriff’s deputy.

Former Starkville Police Officer Brandon Gann also qualified to run as a Democrat, but did not file paperwork by the Friday deadline.

Despite being a political newcomer, Rice led the way in terms of donations, bringing in $3,513.23 in contributions for the calendar year-to-date, while spending $3,472.46.

Rice’s largest individual contribution came in the amount of $1,000 from Dr. Jack Walters of Starkville. He also received $200 from Dan Camp of Starkville.

In terms of contributions to his own war chest, Rice paid $1,112.88 to his campaign in three installments.

The lion’s share of Rice’s disbursements were made to Memphis-based Political Sourcing Group, paying out $2,150 during the calendar year-to-date.

The incumbent Gladney reported $3,100 in contributions for the reporting period with $2,900 reported as non-itemized.

Gladney’s disbursements came in the amount of a $900 political advertisement with the Starkville Daily News, $1,256.40 total with Pollan Promos for 4,000 postcards and 250 political signs; $292.21 with Pollan Promos for 250 stakes; $136.29 for re-elect decals and $350 for a political ad with the Commercial Dispatch.


The District 1 race for the Oktibbeha County Board of Supervisors will see Republican incumbent John Montgomery face off against Democrat Clint Macon.

Montgomery’s filing shows a $400 contribution from the Oktibbeha County Republican Executive Committee, but no disbursements were reported.

Macon reported a $100 payout to the Oktibbeha County Democratic Party for a qualifying fee and $65 to Vista Print for campaign cards. He also reported $835 in cash on hand.

Board President and District 2 Supervisor Orland Trainer filed his campaign finance report by the deadline, but did not list any contributions or disbursements.

Democrat Tremell Orlando Sherman qualified to challenge Trainer for the seat, but did not report any contributions or disbursements during the filing period. During the previous year, though, Sherman reported a $700 contribution from Chasity Fox, a therapist with Community Counseling Services. He also reported a $650 payout to AZZ Printing in Jackson for signs.

The District 3 supervisor’s race has one of the most crowded fields among county races, with three candidates set to appear on the ballot.

Democratic incumbent Marvell Howard met the reporting deadline, but did not list any contributions or payouts. He is running unopposed in the Democratic Primary, but will face one of the two Republican candidates who have qualified.

Little separates the fundraising and spending efforts of Republicans Rudy Johnson and Dennis Daniels for the District 3 race.

Johnson reported $225 in non-itemized contributions and the same amount in disbursements, with no cash on hand to report.

Daniels came in with $200 in itemized contributions and no disbursements.

The race for the District 4 seat will also see a competition as Republican incumbent Bricklee Miller looks to secure another term.

Miller reported $400 in itemized contributions and $300 in non-itemized, including a $400 donation from the Oktibbeha County Republican Executive Committee. She reported $239.29 in total disbursements, including $139.29 to Pollan Promos for political sign decals.

Democrat Leonardo Thompson qualified to challenge Miller, but did not have any contributions or disbursements to report during the filing period. He did, however, report $505 in itemized contributions prior to Jan. 1, 2019.

Thompson’s biggest single donations came from two benefactors: Rev. Michael Taylor, who contributed $200 and Renardo Bradford, who gave $250.

Former District 4 supervisor and Democrat Daniel Jackson filed the necessary paperwork by the reporting deadline, but did not list any contributions or disbursements for the period.

The District 5 race will feature three candidates, including Democratic incumbent Joe Williams.

Williams did not report any contributions or disbursements during the time period, but did cite $1,217 in total disbursements prior to Jan. 1. Those payouts consisted of $568 to Daco LLC Printing of Columbus for campaign cards and $642 to Amsterdam Printing for campaign pens.

Victor Kent Collins, who did not specify a political party, is set to challenge Williams and reported $700 in contributions for the year-to-date. He also reported non-itemized disbursements in the amount of $100.

Republican Jared Pruitt qualified to run for the District 5 seat as well and reported a single contribution of $400 from the Oktibbeha County Republican Executive Commiteee.


Incumbent District 1 Justice Court Judge William Boykin, a Democrat, did not file a report by Friday’s deadline, but his challenger, Democrat Brian Michael Lindner did, reporting $2,081 in funds from himself.

In the District 2 race, incumbent Larnzy Carpenter paid out $3,947.92 out of his own pocket for his re-election bid.

Carpenter’s challenger, Democrat Kennedy Neal, is also funding his campaign with his own money thus far, reporting $941.48, which was spent on yard signs with Pollan Promos.

The two-candidate race for the District 3 seat will see Democratic incumbent Marty C. Haug face off against Republican challenger Cindy Mills.

Haug reported a single $1,000 payout to Ruth Haug, while Mills reported a $400 contribution from the Oktibbeha County Republican Executive Committee and $550 from Martha Lindsey.


Republican incumbent Tax Assessor Allen Morgan will look to hold his office against challenger John S. Brown, who has already outspent the incumbent by a substantial margin.

Morgan reported a single $400 contribution from the Oktibbeha County Republican Executive Committee, with $196 in non-itemized payouts.

Brown, however, reported $1,244.07 in itemized disbursements for campaign materials during the reporting period and cited $1,344.07 in cash on hand.


Incumbent Chancery Clerk Sharon Livingston, a Republican, will seek a re-election bid against Democrat Martesa Bishop-Flowers.

Livingston reported $1,255.53 in payouts for campaign materials, while Bishop-Flowers did not file a report by the May 10 deadline.


Three candidates running unopposed did not meet the 5 p.m. filing deadline on Friday, including: Oktibbeha County Coroner Michael Hunt, County Prosecutor Haley Brown and District 2 Constable Curtis Randle.

All three of the candidates are running unopposed.

Several other incumbents running unopposed met the Friday deadline, including: Oktibbeha County Circuit Clerk Tony Rook, District 1 Constable Shank Phelps and District 2 Constable James Lindsey.

Primary Election Day is set for Aug. 6, with a runoff scheduled for Aug. 27 if necessary.

The General Election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Recommended for you