Some races were closer than others on Tuesday and some candidates had to wait until early Wednesday morning for a winner to be called.

Before 212 affidavit ballots were still being processed on Wednesday, several races saw a clear winner once the 831 absentee ballots were added to totals.

Oktibbeha Circuit Clerk Tony Rook told the Starkville Daily News Wednesday morning that county election commissioners were expected to report at 9:30 a.m. to begin processing paper affidavit ballots, which is a time-consuming process that could take most of the day.

Incumbent Republican Tax Assessor Allen Morgan won in landslide fashion in a re-election bid against John S. Brown, with 7,436 votes before affidavits were processed, or 68.45%.

District 4 Supervisor Bricklee Miller, a Republican incumbent, defeated Democrat Daniel Jackson in a tight race, with 1,855 votes or roughly 53.56% before affidavits were processed.

While Rook could not provide breakdowns for how many affidavits were remaining for each individual race, he did confirm a total provided to Miller in her close race, which showed a separation of 38 affidavit ballots remaining, which would not impact the outcome of the election.

The race for District 3 supervisor was still too close to call, as 131 votes separate incumbent Democrat Marvell Howard, who leads the race by the aforementioned total, and Republican challenger Dennis “Denny” Daniels.

Incumbent District 5 Supervisor Joe Williams coasted to an Election Day victory, pulling in nearly 72% of the vote against Republican Jared Pruitt.

In a near-landslide victory, incumbent Republican Chancery Clerk Sharon Livingston defeated Democrat Martesa Bishop Flowers with 53% of the vote, or 6,573 votes.

Incumbent District 3 Justice Court Judge C. Marty Haug, a Democrat, also won re-election against Republican Cindy Mills with 52% of the vote.

Another contested legislative race saw longtime Republican state Rep. Gary Chism, a Columbus Republican, defeat Libertarian challenger Vicky Rose of West Point.

District 37 covers parts of Clay, Lowndes and Oktibbeha counties. Omitting affidavit and absentee ballots in each county, he won each by the following margins: 173-93 in Clay, 3831-906 votes in Lowndes and 473-110 votes in Oktibbeha.

Chism has served in the state Legislature since 2000 and currently chairs the House Insurance Committee.

In Mississippi House District 38, incumbent Democratic state Rep. Cheikh Taylor, a Starkville Democrat who represents parts of Clay, Lowndes and Oktibbeha counties, defeated challenger Lisa Wynn in a party primary rematch in August to secure his first full term in office after winning a special election in 2017.

Starkville state Rep. Rob Roberson, a Republican, won re-election with no challengers in the primary or General Election. 
State Sen. Angela Turner-Ford, a West Point Democrat, and State Sen. Gary Jackson, a French Camp Republican, were also unopposed.

Ahead of the outstanding affidavit ballots left to be processed, the county saw voter turnout at roughly 44%.

The Starkville Daily News will report updated and certified totals as they come available in the coming days.

Recommended for you