Skip to main content

36 candidates qualify for statewide and county elections to date

February 9, 2011

With the deadline to qualify for the statewide and countywide elections fast approaching, 36 candidates have been added to the ballot.
The primary election is scheduled for Aug. 2 with the general election set for Nov. 8. The deadline for candidates to qualify is March 1.
Qualifying candidates include the following (incumbents noted with an “I” in parentheses):
• Debbie Carrithers, Democrat, tax assessor/collector.
• William “Tony” Boykin, Democrat, Justice Court judge, District 1 (I).
• Sheila Lane, Democrat, District 5 supervisor.
• Charles Sanders, Democrat, sheriff.
• James “Jim” Mills, Democrat, Justice Court judge, District 3 (I).
• W. Bernard Crump, Democrat, Justice Court judge, District 2 (I).
• Orlando Trainer, Democrat, District 2 supervisor (I).
• Dolph Bryan, Democrat, sheriff (I).
• Daniel Jackson, Democrat, District 4 supervisor (I).
• John Young, Democrat, District 5 supervisor (I).
• Carl Clardy, Democrat, District 1 supervisor (I).
• Marvell Howard, Democrat, District 3 supervisor (I).
• James Covington, Democrat, superintendent of education (I).
• Dennis Daniels Jr., Republican, District 3 supervisor (I).
• Allen Morgan, Republican, tax assessor-collector.
• Monica Banks, Democrat, chancery clerk (I).
• Curtis Randle, Democrat, constable, District 2 (I).
• James Lindsey, Democrat, constable, District 3 (I).
• Tremell Sherman, Democrat, District 2 supervisor.
• Curtis White, Democrat, constable, District 1.
• Joe Morse, Democrat, constable, District 1.
• Steve Gladney, Democrat, sheriff.
• William Ford, Democrat, constable, District 1.
• Leonardo Thompson, Democrat, District 5 supervisor.
• Velisa “Lisa” Wynn, Democrat, tax assessor/collector.
• Michael Hunt, Democrat, coroner (I).
• JoHelen “Joey” Walker, Democrat, tax assessor/collector.
• Benny Perkins, Republican, District 3 supervisor.
• Shank Phelps, Republican, constable, District 1.
• Buddy Johnston, Republican, Justice Court judge, District 3.
• Willie Thompson, Republican, District 1 supervisor.
• Tim Cook, Republican, constable, District 2.
• Roy Carpenter, Republican, county attorney (I).
• John Prate Montgomery, Republican, District 1 supervisor.
• Tom Roberson, Republican, constable, District 1.
• Ed Whitehurst Jr., Republican, District 1 supervisor.
Prospective candidates interested in running in one of the races on the Oktibbeha County ballot can fill out the necessary qualifying documents at the Circuit Clerk’s Office at the Courthouse Annex, which is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday.
All candidates for state or county office must:
• Be a registered voter in the state and the district, county or county district of the office for which they are running.
• Never have been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment (unless having received a full pardon).
• Never have been convicted of a felony in a federal court or a felony in the court of another state as outlined in Section 44 of the Mississippi Constitution.
Countywide or county district office candidates seeking political party nomination must file a statement of intent and pay either a $10 or $15 fee (depending on the office) to the appropriate party executive committee via the Circuit Clerk’s Office.
Countywide candidates running as independents must submit petitions containing signatures of 50 registered voters to the Circuit C.
Races on the 2010 primary and general election ballot in Oktibbeha County include the following:
• Governor.
• Lieutenant governor.
• Secretary of state.
• State auditor.
• State treasurer.
• Insurance commissioner.
• Attorney general.
• Commissioner of agriculture and commerce.
State district
• Public service commissioner.
• Transportation commissioner.
• District attorney.
State Legislature
• Senator (currently Senate Districts 15 and 16, but could change with redistricting)
• Representative (currently House Districts 23, 35, 37 and 38, but could change with redistricting).
• Sheriff.
• Chancery clerk.
• Circuit clerk.
• Tax assessor/collector.
• Superintendent of education.
• County prosecuting attorney.
• Coroner.
County district
• Supervisor.
• Justice Court judge.
• Constable.
• Election commissioner.
Copies of the various statements of intent for all candidates and petition forms for independent candidates are available at the Circuit Clerk’s Office.
Forms may also be downloaded from the Secretary of State’s Office website at by clicking under the link marked “Elections.”
For more information, contact the Circuit Clerk’s Office at 323-1356 or visit the Secretary of State’s Office website at the address listed above.

Latest Videos

Tanner Fant of Starkville , Miss. will travel to Mobile, Ala. on Sunday, June 14 to participate in the 58th...
Drinking a beverage that tastes delicious and has good nutritional value is like having your cake and eating it, too.
Pasta, bread, pizza crusts, peanut butter, fried foods, beef, even certain types of chips — these are all foods that...
The memories of April 21, 2008 when we went to the Boston Marathon still lingered in our hearts and souls on April 15...
Emily Jones Deluded Diva My neighbor, (I'll call her Brenda for the sake of anonymity), is one of the best things that...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes