Skip to main content

Saturday marks end of absentee voting

January 10, 2013


Saturday is the last day Oktibbeha County voters within state Senate Dist. 16 can cast absentee ballots in the special election to fill the late Miss. Sen. Bennie Turner’s seat.

The Oktibbeha County Circuit Clerk’s office will remain open until noon tomorrow to accommodate last-minute absentee voting. The office is located at 108 West Main Street in Starkville.

Turner’s seat opened when he died Nov. 27 in Jackson. He was 64.
His daughter, Angela Turner-Lairy, qualified for Tuesday’s special election and will face Kenny Fowler. Turner-Lairy is running as a Democrat, while Fowler is an Independent.

A newcomer to the political scene, Fowler has been a fixture in the West Point community since he moved to town in 1969. He is particularly known to the West Point High School Athletics Department and has volunteered his time to help student-athletes and traditional students.

Turner-Lairy is an attorney and serves as a prosecutor for West Point and Clay County. She previously told The Daily Times Leader she would step down from her positions if elected.

Miss. Dist. 38 Rep. Tyrone Ellis is serving as her campaign manager.
State Senate Dist. 16 covers Clay County, as well as portions of Lowndes, Oktibbeha and Noxubee Counties.

Oktibbeha County Circuit Clerk Glenn Hamilton said 10,383 registered Oktibbeha County voters fall under Dist. 16.

Few voters, he said, have voted absentee as of Thursday.
Oktibbeha County voter registration cards will indicate residents’ senatorial district, but those with questions about the election or those who do not have a voter registration card may call the circuit clerk’s office at 662-323-1356.

All registered voters in the following Oktibbeha County precincts are eligible to vote: North Starkville II at Boardtown Village; Osborn at the fire station on 16th Section Road; Hickory Grove at the Hickory Grove Fire Station; Oktoc at the Oktoc Fire Station; Sessums at the Sessums Fire Station; and Bell Schoolhouse at the Bell Schoolhouse Fire Station.

The following five precincts (voting locations in parentheses) have voters in both the 15th and 16th Senatorial Districts: West Starkville (the National Guard Armory), North Starkville III (the fire station at the corner of Miss. Highway 389 and Garrard Road), South Starkville (Starkville Sportsplex), Central Starkville (courthouse annex) and Gillespie (Gillespie Street Center).

Latest Videos

Tanner Fant of Starkville , Miss. will travel to Mobile, Ala. on Sunday, June 14 to participate in the 58th...
Drinking a beverage that tastes delicious and has good nutritional value is like having your cake and eating it, too.
Pasta, bread, pizza crusts, peanut butter, fried foods, beef, even certain types of chips — these are all foods that...
The memories of April 21, 2008 when we went to the Boston Marathon still lingered in our hearts and souls on April 15...
Emily Jones Deluded Diva My neighbor, (I'll call her Brenda for the sake of anonymity), is one of the best things that...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes