Mullen second by himself in career wins at State

MSU football coach Dan Mullen
Staff Writer

Dan Mullen is now all alone in second place.

When his Mississippi State Bulldogs defeated Kentucky 45-7 on Saturday, it gave Mullen his 66th win, which moved him out of a second-place tie with College Football Hall of Famer Allyn McKeen.

Mullen is in his ninth season as the leader of the Bulldogs. He has a 66-44 career record and stands only nine victories away from tying Jackie Sherrill for the most in school history.

MSU offensive lineman Elgton Jenkins is glad that Mullen came to Clarksdale to recruit him.

“Coming from a small school, he gave me this chance,” Jenkins said. “He helps us on and off the field. He teaches us things that will follow us for the rest of our lives.”

Mullen has been a consistent winner and could very well be leading the Bulldogs to their eighth-straight NCAA bowl appearance.

At 5-2, MSU just needs one more victory out of the next five games to become bowl eligible. The Bulldogs have already matched their regular season win total of last season when their five victories allowed them to make the St. Petersburg Bowl because of a high academic performance rating.

still perfect

With his 31-yard field goal in the first half to give MSU a 10-7 lead against Kentucky, Jace Christmann improved to 6-for-6 on his attempts this season.

Christmann also made all six of his extra-point attempts against the Wildcats to give him 20 makes in 20 tries.

Myles enjoys
season best

Former Starkville High School player Gabe Myles had a season-best four catches for 30 yards for the Bulldogs.

He came back from a leg injury last week against BYU to grab one pass for 20 yards.

Myles left the game with what appeared to be an injury to the same leg, but Mullen said after the game that Myles could have returned to action.

Womack recognized
as MSU’s SEC Legend

Floyd "Pork Chop" Womack was recognized prior to Saturday’s kickoff as Mississippi State’s Southeastern Conference Legend.

Womack, a 2000 first-team All-American offensive lineman and an 11-year National Football League veteran, will be honored in December at the SEC Championship Game.