Mississippi State 31, Louisville 27, college football final, TaxSlayer Bowl

Staff Writer

Mississippi State wrapped up its season in style on Saturday with a 31-27 win over Louisville in the TaxSlayer Bowl.

With the victory, the Bulldogs finished the 2017 season with an overall record of 9-4.

“We talked about going out and playing four quarters,” Mississippi State interim head coach Greg Knox said. “It took four quarters to win that ball game.”

Mississippi State locked up the victory with a go-ahead touchdown run from freshman quarterback Keytaon Thompson with just 3:49 left to play.

Safety Mark McLaurin was chosen Mississippi State’s Most Valuable Player in the game. The junior had three interceptions against Louisville quarterback and last year’s Heisman Trophy winner Lamar Jackson.

The win gives MSU its third nine-win season in the past four years. It marks just the ninth nine-win season in the 118-year history of Mississippi State football.

The Bulldogs also improved its all-time bowl record to 13-8.

In addition, by topping Louisville, MSU’s senior class earned its 34th victory, tying the 1942 and 2015 senior classes for most wins ever by a particular class.